Liberation Collective

Sex Role BoxesI was coercively assigned a sex role at birth. As soon as medical personnel saw that I didn’t have a penis, the process of putting me and keeping me in a very narrowly-defined box began. From then on I was coercively stopped from doing or being things associated with boys and coerced into doing and being things associated with girls. I fought many bitter, painful battles over years of being forced into that box. A handful of those battles I won; most I lost, because the full power of adults was brought to bear to keep me in my proper sex role.

It’s intensely frustrating that in the intervening years experiences like this have continued for girls and boys. But worse, rather than meaningful progress toward simply allowing children to live their lives outside of any box, there is now a very powerful movement that claims that forcing children into…

View original post 272 more words

Published in: on March 1, 2013 at 10:58 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://demonista.wordpress.com/2013/03/01/307/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

