New posts I plan on

-defending Robert Jensen/reviewing “Getting Off” (eg why all the bullshit people say about his fluid sexuality?)

-article for JHR on the effect the 2010 Olympics will/may have on the women in prostitution in Vancouver and area, esp the Downtown Eastside, idea for the cooperative brothel (I think it has the potential to be good, but I’m jaded–if it happens, it’s just so the john tourists can get legal bought sex)

-reproductive technologies, with a focus on surrogate motherhood, and what it means for women, esp Third World/poor women, address the “what about infertile women?” question always given

The last should be done for Tuesday.

I only gave those three, because I’ll actually do them.  Other ideas are being had, but no promises as to them being done😉

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://demonista.wordpress.com/2008/12/01/new-posts-i-plan-on/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. reproductive technologies, with a focus on surrogate motherhood, and what it means for women, esp Third World/poor women, address the “what about infertile women?” question always given

    The last should be done for Tuesday.

    Really looking forward to this, I write about and think about adoption from a feminist/social justice perspective a lot and there are lots if connections between the issues of adoption and surrogacy

  2. damn thats suppoded to be

    lots of connections

  3. For the thing on prostitution at the Olympics, looking at what happened in the last football world cup in Germany (2006) might be worthwhile. Apparently rape trafficking went through the roof there at that point (and it was already bad there) – in Germany, the purchase of sex is legal. This would be a good comparitive study.

  4. ‘comparative’- blimey! the more I mark essays, the worse my spelling gets! I’ll lose my reputation as the Pedantic Grammar Queen if this keeps up.

  5. FUCK! I just lost over 4 pages of my essay on rep tech–so whether i do it in near future is debatable. i’m so flippin’ mad! damn computer shutting down😡

  6. [demonista: hey, laurelin, i’m letting this comment through. hope that’s ok. if not, i’ll delete it.]

    Laurelin:
    “For the thing on prostitution at the Olympics, looking at what happened in the last football world cup in Germany (2006) might be worthwhile. Apparently rape trafficking went through the roof there at that point (and it was already bad there) – in Germany, the purchase of sex is legal.”

    I am not so sure of that. I remember there was some big feminist campaign against that but I think I remember reading that it was eventually much lower than what was expected. (Ah, I found this: http://www.nytimes.com/2006/07/03/world/europe/03berlin.html?ex=1309579200&en=e28e47eba8978d37&ei=5089&partner=rssyahoo&emc=rss )

  7. [demonista: hey, laurelin, i’m letting this comment through. hope that’s ok. if not, i’ll delete it.]

    I’m sorry if my post was interpreted as a dismissal or anything (or even being pro-prostitution), this wasn’t my intention, I just wanted to share an information I had heard. And on the other hand, I also saw a report of CATW yesterday saying the contrary ( http://action.web.ca/home/catw/readingroom.shtml?x=92305 ) and while I am not a big fan of Raymond i think there are some valid arguments, so, well, maybe my information was actually crap.

    And I agree with you demonista when you say “I think it has the potential to be good, but I’m jaded–if it happens, it’s just so the john tourists can get legal bought sex” : I quickly looked at some links concerning prostitution in Athens and Beijng Olympics, and,iIf I understood well, different options were considered (relaxing prostitution legislation in Athens and more repression in Beijing). The thing is, neither of them were actually taking in consideration women, but only the “right” for tourist clients to have sex in one case, and the good image of the country in the other.

  8. No probs, D.

  9. Thanks for that article, Elly. I’ve heard rather different things myself: http://action.web.ca/home/catw/readingroom.shtml?x=92305


Leave a Reply

